The beginning is now…

I write this extremely tired and in need of sleep. I’m also aware I need to be up in 5 hours to leave for the airport. Tomorrow is a start in documenting my passion. Oh and in case you didn’t guess, it’s travel…

Many of you will know I like to travel a little *cough cough*. Do I spend lots of money? No. Am I rich? I wish, but no. See, the way I travel is different to 90% of you. Sometimes I travel cash, but for the majority, I travel with points. Now, by points I mean airmiles, to which I will explain how you can too soon.

Banner 1
In the past 2 years, I’ve managed to travel to places I would have never imagined I could travel to. Some paid in cash, but the majority paid with points, and many lying down in a bed 35,000ft above the starts sipping on a drink or two.

A quick example…. Tomorrow I am travelling from London Heathrow to Berlin to attend ITB Berlin 2017, which is known globally as the largest travel show in the world. The purpose of this is to try to give me the kickstart I need to really get into this, and of course to meet contacts and obtain large quantities of free stuff! Now, back to points! I looked at booking this journey a couple of days ago, and all of this is rather last minute. Your cheapest flights were looking to be around £100 return for the day. In the end, I decided to book with British Airways and spent 15,500 Avios + £50 tax for a return in Business Class…. don’t mind if I do! The same ticket would have been £1200 in cash! Did I save £1150 then? No. I saved £50 against the cheapest cash ticket, but at least I shall be a lot more comfortable.

I digress. The point is that I won’t be one of these bloggers to promise that you too can save £1000’s in travel. Everyone values these ‘airmiles’ differently. I just hope the above gives you a brief glimpse into how I work.

In this blog, I am to give consumer advise in how to travel for as little as possible and take you on a journey of my travels, but at the same time, showing you that you can also travel in a class you may have never thought you could afford. Only time will tell, so I advise you to stick around!

Expect to see many posts in the coming days, including my trip report with British Airways in Club Europe, review of the British Airways Galleries lounge in Heathrow T5 and Berlin, the latest news and gossip from ITB Berlin 2017 and how you can do it all too!

P.S, sorry for what may seem a scatter approach style of writing. This is all very new to me, but I’m sure I will find my feet soon! I would be grateful for any feedback, positive or not.

Ryan, Points With A Passion

Business Card V2

One thought on “The beginning is now…

Leave a Reply

